Acknowledgements

Nancy Flood, Editor of the Proceedings of the 12th Annual TRU Undergraduate Research and Innovation Conference, would like to extend her thanks to the following individuals who assisted by reviewing manuscripts: Valerie Collins, Florriann Fehr, Jenna Goddard, Wendy Krauza, Karl Larsen, and Cory Stumpf.

She is also enormously grateful to Ginny Ratsoy and Elizabeth Reimer for writing the Introduction and for copy-editing assistance—and also to Jenna Goddard for help in the latter department. Thanks for to Kathy Gaynor for typesetting and assembling the end result and to Elizabeth Rennie for the timely and appropriate reminders that kept everything in order.

The TRU Undergraduate Research and Innovation Conference would like to acknowledge Dr. Will Garrett-Petts, Associate Vice-President Research and Graduate Studies, and Brenda Mathenia, University Librarian, whose financial contributions make this conference possible. Many thanks for your ongoing generosity and support.

We would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the following:

Conference Supporters

Office of the President

Office of the Provost and Vice-President Academic

Office of Research and Graduate Studies

Visual and Performing Arts students and their instructors

Marketing and Communications

Print Services

Information Technology Services

Media Services

Ancillary Services

Facilities Services

...and all of the student and faculty volunteers who have given so generously of their time to make this event a success!

Conference Organizing Committee

Chair: Elizabeth Rennie

Students: Robin Arundel, Ashley Kump, and Latife Tekin

Faculty and Staff: Lyn Baldwin, Julie Cinel, Ila Crawford, Nancy Flood, Kathy Gaynor, Wendy Krauza, Mohammad Mahbobi, Blair McDonald, Catherine Ortner, Christine Petersen, Susan Purdy, Ginny Ratsoy, Elizabeth Reimer, Joanna Urban, Heidi Verwey, and Tom Waldichuk