Acknowledgements

As Editor of *the Proceedings of the 13th Annual TRU Undergraduate Research and Innovation Conference*, I would like to extend my thanks to the following individuals who assisted by reviewing manuscripts: Curtis Bjork, Sheila Blackstock, John Karakatsoulis, Jenni Karl, Lindsey McKay, Kirstin McLaughlin, Jennifer Murphy, Catherine Ortner, Monica Sanchez, Rochelle Stevenson and Elizabeth Templeman.

I am also enormously grateful to Ginny Ratsoy for writing the Introduction and to Jenna Goddard for copy editing assistance. I also thank George Johnson, and his English 4760 (Editing and Publishing W2019) students, who did much of the copy editing for this issue: Deanna Brady, Cassandra Byrne, Anna Dokshina, Kyley Drach, Liam Fraser, Myshara Herbert-McMyn, Moira Laidlaw, Benjamin Matthews, Madelaine McMillan, Winter-Dawn McNamer, Emiko Ohama, Alexi Orchard, Ashleigh Plett, Natalie Stewart and Sydney Wild.

Finally, thanks to Shane Neifer and Kathy Gaynor for assembling the end result and to Elizabeth Rennie for her help with the latter and for the timely and appropriate reminders that kept everything in order.

Nancy Flood, Editor

The TRU Undergraduate Research and Innovation Conference would like to acknowledge Dr. Will Garrett-Petts, Associate Vice-President Research and Graduate Studies, and Kathy Gaynor, University Librarian, whose financial contributions make this conference possible. Many thanks for your ongoing generosity and support. We would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the following conference supporters:

Office of Research and Graduate Studies and the Undergraduate Research Ambassadors

TRU Library

Visual and Performing Arts students and their instructors

Marketing and Communications

Print Services

Information Technology Services

Media Services

Ancillary Services

Facilities Services

...and all of the student and faculty volunteers who have given so generously of their time to make this event a success!

2018 Conference Organizing Committee

Chair: Elizabeth Rennie

Students: Payton Comazzetto and Latife Tekin

Faculty and Staff: Lyn Baldwin, Julie Cinel, Nancy Flood, Kathy Gaynor, Jenna Goddard, John Hull, Wendy Krauza, Mohammad Mahbobi, Blair McDonald, Kim Naqvi, Robin Nichol, Tawni Ormrod, Catherine Ortner, Christine Petersen, Susan Purdy, Ginny Ratsoy, Elizabeth Reimer, Michelle Seibel, Joanna Urban, Heidi Verwey, and Tom Waldichuk